SeaFood Business

JUN 2014

SeaFood Business is the global trusted authority for seafood buyers and sellers. We are the seafood industry's leading trade magazine with more than 30 years of experience. Our coverage is based on the "business" of buying and selling seafood.

Issue link: https://seafoodbusiness.epubxp.com/i/315885

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 46

Publisher Mary Larkin / mlarkin@divcom.com Associate Publisher / Editor Fiona Robinson / frobinson@divcom.com Senior Editor, SeaFood Business James Wright / jwright@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeaFood Business Melissa Wood / mwood@divcom.com Online Editor, SeafoodSource Sean Murphy / smurphy@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeafoodSource April Forristall / aforristall@divcom.com Contributing Editors Christine Blank, Joanne Friedrick, Jason Holland, Lauren Kramer, Chris Loew Art Director Laura Lee Dobson / ldobson@divcom.com Production Associate Doug Stewart / dstewart@divcom.com Production Web Designer Katie Emery / kemery@divcom.com Advertising Coordinator Wendy Jalbert / wjalbert@divcom.com ADVERTISING SALES Sue Kogan, Sales Manager U.S. East Coast/Europe (305) 598-0757 / skogan@divcom.com Marjorie Ferris, Sales Manager U.S. West Coast/Asia/South America (207) 842-5631 / mferris@divcom.com SALES FAX: (207) 842-5611 @SeaFoodBusiness, @SeafoodSource .com/SeaFoodBusinessmagazine DIVERSIFIED COMMUNICATIONS 121 Free St., P.O. Box 7438 Portland, ME 04112-7438 (207) 842-5606 Fax: (207) 842-5603 Published by Diversifed Business Communications Publisher of National Fisherman and WorkBoat Copyright © 2014 Diversifed Business Communications PRINTED IN U.S.A. Producer of Seafood Expo North America, Seafood Processing North America, New England Food Show, Seafood Expo Global, Seafood Processing Global, Seafood Expo Asia, Seafood Expo Southern Europe and www.seafoodsource.com Theodore Wirth President/CEO Mary Larkin VP Seafood Expositions Liz Plizga Show Director, Seafood Expo Karen Butland Sales Manager, Seafood Expo North America Victoria Hennin VP Strategic Marketing and Business Intelligence (207) 842-5500 / Fax: (207) 842-5505 www.divbusiness.com Editor's Note Publisher's Note 6 SeaFood Business June 2014 End of an era Changes for SeaFood Business I thought after writing more than 200 editorials that this one would be a piece of cake to write, but I was wrong. Tis has been the hardest one to write, probably because it's absolutely the last thing I have to do as associate publisher and editor of this fne magazine and its dedicated staf. When a print magazine is shuttered it typically happens abruptly. However, I've been given the liberty of saying goodbye to our readers, and for that I'm thankful. I'm bidding farewell to our readers and advertisers who have supported SeaFood Business for 33 glorious years. You've experienced countless redesigns, format changes, extended partnerships, conferences, supplements, Seafood Supplier, the Seafood Handbook — the list of changes and additions over the years could go on and on. Tank you to all of the buyers who have used SeaFood Business as your industry bible for the past three decades. It's been truly rewarding hearing from each and every one of you who has reached out to our staf, whether it be with criticism or praise for a job well done. Keep integrity as the pinnacle of your work, and make sure the consumer keeps eating the best possible protein in the world: seafood. L ike many companies, Diversifed Communications, publisher of SeaFood Business magazine, analyzes business opportunities it would like to pursue. Last year, we undertook an extensive study on how news was being consumed by our audiences and the results showed that in order to better serve our growing global audience with the seafood information they need, we in turn need to focus more on daily and global delivery of news, pricing and trends. So as the seafood industry evolves, so must we and part of that change is to incorporate the brand of SeaFood Business magazine into www. seafoodsource.com to better serve the global marketplace. You will still be able to access the in-depth analysis ofered by SeaFood Business stories within SeafoodSource. For many, the print edition of SeaFood Business is a trusted and informative magazine that was delivered monthly and now that information will be available on a daily basis. We thank you for your support over the past 33 years and we look forward to continuing to deliver the best and most trusted information to the seafood industry via SeafoodSource. In the wild salmon market report graph in our April issue, some of our pink salmon harvest numbers were incorrect. In 2009, 97.2 million pink salmon were harvested; 107.2 million fsh in 2010; 116.1 million fsh in 2011; and 68 million fsh in 2012. Te 2013 number of 219.1 million fsh was correct. We apologize for the error. Correction 6_pub edit note june sfb.indd 6 5/20/14 11:41 AM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SeaFood Business - JUN 2014