SeaFood Business

APR 2014

SeaFood Business is the global trusted authority for seafood buyers and sellers. We are the seafood industry's leading trade magazine with more than 30 years of experience. Our coverage is based on the "business" of buying and selling seafood.

Issue link: https://seafoodbusiness.epubxp.com/i/287874

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 62

Editor's Note Publisher Mary Larkin / mlarkin@divcom.com Associate Publisher / Editor Fiona Robinson / frobinson@divcom.com Senior Editor, SeaFood Business James Wright / jwright@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeaFood Business Melissa Wood / mwood@divcom.com Online Editor, SeafoodSource Sean Murphy / smurphy@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeafoodSource April Forristall / aforristall@divcom.com Contributing Editors Christine Blank, Joanne Friedrick, Jason Holland, Lauren Kramer, Chris Loew Art Director Laura Lee Dobson / ldobson@divcom.com Production Associate Doug Stewart / dstewart@divcom.com Production Web Designer Katie Emery / kemery@divcom.com Advertising Coordinator Wendy Jalbert / wjalbert@divcom.com ADVERTISING SALES Sue Kogan, Sales Manager U.S. East Coast/Europe (305) 598-0757 / skogan@divcom.com Marjorie Ferris, Sales Manager U.S. West Coast/Asia/South America (207) 842-5631 / mferris@divcom.com SALES FAX: (207) 842-5611 @SeaFoodBusiness, @SeafoodSource .com/SeaFoodBusinessmagazine DIVERSIFIED COMMUNICATIONS 121 Free St., P.O. Box 7438 Portland, ME 04112-7438 (207) 842-5606 Fax: (207) 842-5603 Published by Diversifed Business Communications Publisher of National Fisherman and WorkBoat Copyright © 2014 Diversifed Business Communications PRINTED IN U.S.A. Producer of Seafood Expo North America, Seafood Processing North America, New England Food Show, Seafood Expo Global, Seafood Processing Global, Seafood Expo Asia, Seafood Expo Southern Europe and www.seafoodsource.com Theodore Wirth President/CEO Mary Larkin VP Seafood Expositions Liz Plizga Show Director, Seafood Expo Karen Butland Sales Manager, Seafood Expo North America Victoria Hennin VP Strategic Marketing and Business Intelligence (207) 842-5500 / Fax: (207) 842-5505 www.divbusiness.com Editorial Advisory Board DISTRIBUTION Rich Polins, North Coast Seafoods Jim Wallace, C&S Wholesale Grocers Andrew Wilkinson, Sysco RETAIL Robert Cerullo, Wakefern Food Corp. Jack Gridley, Dorothy Lane Market FOODSERVICE Roger Berkowitz and Richard Vellante, Legal Sea Foods Steve LaHaie, Shaw's Crab House 6 SeaFood Business April 2014 Is this spring? T he arrival of April is typically received with open arms in our ofce, for in normal years the snow is melting and the mud is slowly replaced by grass. Tis year is not normal. Casting weather aside, the beginning of the month is catch-up time after returning from Seafood Expo North America in Boston. A lot of our year-round coverage is drawn from discussions at the expo (check out the photo recap on page 42), products that have been sampled and conversations with old friends and new readers. Many of those new readers are considered millennials, which is the focus of this issue's Top Story, Talkin' Bout My Generation. Contributing Editor Christine Blank looks at the production and marketing aspects that seafood companies, restaurants and retailers will have to factor into business plans if they're going to have success selling to this age group. Te story also considers baby boomers' growing appetite for seafood, and as more consumers reach retirement age they'll have more time to cook seafood at home and eat out at restaurants. Species that have suitable supply and prices for R&D to reach millennials and boomers alike are farmed salmon and wild pink salmon. Tis issue's Top Species on farmed salmon on page 30 gives an indication of some of the brand building that farmed salmon suppliers are undertaking to set their products apart. Marine Harvest, Skuna Bay and Verlasso are just a few of the companies working on brand rollouts with farmed salmon products. If the high volume of products rolled out at the Boston expo is an indicator of the market at large, there is a lot of competition out there. Te Special Feature on page 40 discusses how the large pink salmon harvest of 2013 has opened the door for more product innovation, including salmon burgers and canned salmon. Tese are yet more examples of products that could be geared toward the millennial and boomer generations. Are your products properly developed and marketed to reach these consumers? 06_EditorsNote.indd 6 3/25/14 11:23 AM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SeaFood Business - APR 2014