SeaFood Business

MAR 2014

SeaFood Business is the global trusted authority for seafood buyers and sellers. We are the seafood industry's leading trade magazine with more than 30 years of experience. Our coverage is based on the "business" of buying and selling seafood.

Issue link: https://seafoodbusiness.epubxp.com/i/264331

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 90

Editor's Note Publisher Mary Larkin / mlarkin@divcom.com Associate Publisher / Editor Fiona Robinson / frobinson@divcom.com Senior Editor, SeaFood Business James Wright / jwright@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeaFood Business Melissa Wood / mwood@divcom.com Online Editor, SeafoodSource Sean Murphy / smurphy@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeafoodSource April Forristall / aforristall@divcom.com Contributing Editors Christine Blank, Joanne Friedrick, Jason Holland, Lauren Kramer, Chris Loew Art Director Laura Lee Dobson / ldobson@divcom.com Production Associate Doug Stewart / dstewart@divcom.com Production Web Designer Katie Emery / kemery@divcom.com Advertising Coordinator Wendy Jalbert / wjalbert@divcom.com ADVERTISING SALES Sue Kogan, Sales Manager U.S. East Coast/Europe (305) 598-0757 / skogan@divcom.com Marjorie Ferris, Sales Manager U.S. West Coast/Asia/South America (207) 842-5631 / mferris@divcom.com CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING SALES Wes Doane (207) 842-5496 / wdoane@divcom.com SALES FAX: (207) 842-5611 @SeaFoodBusiness, @SeafoodSource .com/SeaFoodBusinessmagazine DIVERSIFIED COMMUNICATIONS 121 Free St., P.O. Box 7438 Portland, ME 04112-7438 (207) 842-5606 Fax: (207) 842-5603 Published by Diversifed Business Communications Publisher of National Fisherman and WorkBoat Copyright © 2014 Diversifed Business Communications PRINTED IN U.S.A. Producer of Seafood Expo North America, Seafood Processing North America, New England Food Show, Seafood Expo Global, Seafood Processing Global, Seafood Expo Asia, Seafood Expo Southern Europe and www.seafoodsource.com Theodore Wirth President/CEO Mary Larkin VP Seafood Expositions Liz Plizga Show Director, Seafood Expo Karen Butland Sales Manager, Seafood Expo North America Victoria Hennin VP Strategic Marketing and Business Intelligence (207) 842-5500 / Fax: (207) 842-5505 www.divbusiness.com Editorial Advisory Board DISTRIBUTION Rich Polins, North Coast Seafoods Jim Wallace, C&S Wholesale Grocers Andrew Wilkinson, Sysco RETAIL Robert Cerullo, Wakefern Food Corp. Jack Gridley, Dorothy Lane Market FOODSERVICE Roger Berkowitz and Richard Vellante, Legal Sea Foods Steve LaHaie, Shaw's Crab House 6 SeaFood Business March 2014 Preventive measures I 've spent almost two decades restraining an eye-rolling reply to industry outsiders who immediately dismiss all farmed seafood products as bad. Tere are many consumers and industry professionals alike who have read outdated NGO reports about the envi- ronmental efects of fsh farming, which many years ago painted the entire aquaculture industry from Maine to Mumbai with a label of environmental destruction. Whether true or not, the global industry has had to individually educate customers about what the industry is — and isn't — doing for farming practices. While some of the anti-fsh farm tide has receded, there are a few topics that continue to plague the aquaculture industry, including antibiotic use. Senior Editor James Wright investigated the topic in this issue's Top Story on page 28, Prescription for Success. What he discovered was that the aquaculture industry's track record with antibiotic use isn't all negative. For the most part, veterinary drugs are used as a preventative measure, but not all of that use is responsible. If you buy or sell farmed fsh, you'll want to read this story. Another preemptive measure, this one related to aquaculture trade, is discussed in this issue's Top Species feature on catfsh on page 34. Despite a prolonged lobbying efort against it, the domestic catfsh industry won its plan to move inspections from the Food and Drug Administration to the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Included in the passage of the nearly trillion-dollar Farm Bill was the direction for the USDA to fnalize its catfsh inspection program. Tis means catfsh imports overseas will have to implement USDA standards, develop new inspection programs and submit to re-inspection at U.S. ports, among other changes. Tis was a move by the domestic lobby to curtail the imports of frozen catfsh from Asia, which most certainly will be diverted to other markets. Will the industry beneft from increased prices and a potential drop in catfsh consumption? Time will tell. 06_EditorsNote.indd 6 2/19/14 9:43 AM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SeaFood Business - MAR 2014