SeaFood Business

MAY 2013

SeaFood Business is the global trusted authority for seafood buyers and sellers. We are the seafood industry's leading trade magazine with more than 30 years of experience. Our coverage is based on the "business" of buying and selling seafood.

Issue link: https://seafoodbusiness.epubxp.com/i/123787

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 8 of 54

Editor's Note Publisher Mary Larkin / mlarkin@divcom.com Associate Publisher / Editor Fiona Robinson / frobinson@divcom.com Senior Editor, SeaFood Business James Wright / jwright@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeaFood Business Melissa Wood / mwood@divcom.com Online Editor, SeafoodSource Sean Murphy / smurphy@divcom.com Salmon: It's on the plate Assistant Editor, SeafoodSource April Forristall / aforristall@divcom.com Contributing Editors W elcome to our unofcial farmed salmon issue; you'll see the fsh mentioned in a variety of features. An overview of the farmed salmon supply and market trends can be found in the Top Species feature on page 28. In the U.S. market, suppliers are focused on branding to get a foot in the door with potential buyers. Skuna Bay, Black Pearl, Marine Harvest, Verlasso, Cooke Aquaculture and many others are all jockeying for position in a competitive market. Branding the salmon with a story to grab buyers' attention is clearly making inroads. Our monthly Retail Report column from Nielsen Perishables Group delves into salmon data from the fsh counter. It's interesting to see that promotional volume accounted for approximately one-quarter of total supermarket salmon sales in 2012. Please note the data NPG receives includes all salmon, both farmed and wild. Right before we went to press the news broke of Infectious Salmon Anemia (ISA) resurfacing at two Chilean salmon farms. An update on that situation can be found in the News section on page 12. Buyers regularly deal with the ups and downs of supply issues, and this is just one to add to the list. ISA can't be fully eradicated from a farm site, so this surely won't be the last we hear about the problem. Te latest farmed salmon to enter my kitchen at home was Ōra king salmon from New Zealand. Pan-roasted with just a hint of seasoning, it melted like butter in the mouth and was the perfect introduction to this particular fsh. I hope you get to enjoy a similar salmon meal occasion in the near future, whether it's farmed or wild. Christine Blank, Chris Dove, Anthony Fletcher, Joanne Friedrick, Jason Holland, Lauren Kramer, Chris Loew Production Director Randy LeShane / rleshane@divcom.com Art Director Laura Lee Dobson / ldobson@divcom.com Production Associate Doug Stewart / dstewart@divcom.com Production Web Designer Katie Emery / kemery@divcom.com Advertising Coordinator Wendy Jalbert / wjalbert@divcom.com ADVERTISING SALES Sue Kogan, Sales Manager U.S. East Coast/Europe (305) 598-0757 / skogan@divcom.com Marjorie Ferris, Sales Manager U.S. West Coast/Asia/South America (207) 842-5631 / mferris@divcom.com CLASSIfIED ADVERTISING SALES Wes Doane (207) 842-5496 / wdoane@divcom.com SALES fAx: (207) 842-5611 @SeaFoodBusiness, @SeafoodSource .com/SeaFoodBusinessmagazine DIVERSIFIED BUSINESS COMMUNICATIONS 121 Free St., P.O. Box 7438 Portland, ME 04112-7438 (207) 842-5606 Fax: (207) 842-5603 Published by Diversifed Business Communications Publisher of National Fisherman and WorkBoat Congratulations! Tis year's SeaFood Business Readership Survey winners are Jef Matthes, Alliance Foods, and Kenneth Allard, Flik International at Vicor Corp. Your participation is much appreciated! Copyright © 2013 Diversifed Business Communications PRINTED IN U.S.A. Producer of The International Boston Seafood Show, Seafood Processing America, New England Food Show, European Seafood Exposition, Seafood Processing Europe, Asian Seafood Expo, Seafood Barcelona and www.seafoodsource.com Editorial Advisory Board DISTRIBuTION 4 RETAIL fOODSERVICE Rich Polins, North Coast Seafoods Jim Wallace, C&S Wholesale Grocers Andrew Wilkinson, Sysco Robert Cerullo, Wakefern Food Corp. Jack Gridley, Dorothy Lane Market Roger Bing, Darden Restaurants Roger Berkowitz and Richard Vellante, Legal Sea Foods Steve LaHaie, Shaw's Crab House Nancy Hasselback President/CEO Mary Larkin VP Seafood Expositions Liz Plizga Show Director, IBSS, ESE, SB Karen Butland Sales Manager, IBSS Victoria Hennin VP Strategic Marketing and Business Intelligence (207) 842-5500 / Fax: (207) 842-5505 SeaFood Business May 2013 www.divbusiness.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SeaFood Business - MAY 2013