SeaFood Business

JUN 2013

SeaFood Business is the global trusted authority for seafood buyers and sellers. We are the seafood industry's leading trade magazine with more than 30 years of experience. Our coverage is based on the "business" of buying and selling seafood.

Issue link: http://seafoodbusiness.epubxp.com/i/132132

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 46

Editor's Note Publisher Mary Larkin / mlarkin@divcom.com Associate Publisher / Editor Fiona Robinson / frobinson@divcom.com Senior Editor, SeaFood Business James Wright / jwright@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeaFood Business Melissa Wood / mwood@divcom.com Online Editor, SeafoodSource Sean Murphy / smurphy@divcom.com Assistant Editor, SeafoodSource April Forristall / aforristall@divcom.com Contributing Editors Christine Blank, Anthony Fletcher, Joanne Friedrick, Jason Holland, Lauren Kramer, Chris Loew Shrimp buyers on edge Production Director Randy LeShane / rleshane@divcom.com Art Director O nly a few farmed seafood species have the power to make buyers worldwide stand up and take notice when problems arise, and one of them is shrimp. Vannamei, the ubiquitous afordable white shrimp, has had a big problem with early mortality syndrome over the past few years. Asian shrimp farm production is being dramatically impacted, as Contributing Editor Steve Coomes writes about in this issue's Top Story, Diagnosed, on page 20. Buyers in the frst half of this year have described the purchasing scenario as a "white knuckle year." While Donald Lightner and his team of researchers at the University of Arizona have pinpointed the culprit, a Vibrio bacteria infected with a virus, now the work is geared toward determining how to stop the spread and eventually prevent the disease. Whether that is possible and how long it could take (it took a few years to determine the culprit) is anyone's guess. What do all the supply problems mean for buyers? For big chains it means less reliance on big-volume contracts and more spot purchases. Tis could translate into fewer shrimp promotions in supermarket and restaurant chains and less shrimp sold on ad. Of course there's also the countervailing duty case in the United States that's keeping shrimp buyers on their toes. So if you know someone who deals in a lot of shrimp and he or she is a little edgy, don't start talking about work. It may be safer to stick with topics like the weather and the latest funny video making the rounds on Facebook. Laura Lee Dobson / ldobson@divcom.com Production Associate Doug Stewart / dstewart@divcom.com Production Web Designer Katie Emery / kemery@divcom.com Advertising Coordinator Wendy Jalbert / wjalbert@divcom.com ADVERTISING SALES Sue Kogan, Sales Manager U.S. East Coast/Europe (305) 598-0757 / skogan@divcom.com Marjorie Ferris, Sales Manager U.S. West Coast/Asia/South America (207) 842-5631 / mferris@divcom.com CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING SALES Wes Doane (207) 842-5496 / wdoane@divcom.com SALES FAX: (207) 842-5611 @SeaFoodBusiness, @SeafoodSource .com/SeaFoodBusinessmagazine DIVERSIFIED BUSINESS COMMUNICATIONS 121 Free St., P.O. Box 7438 Portland, ME 04112-7438 (207) 842-5606 Fax: (207) 842-5603 Published by Diversifed Business Communications Publisher of National Fisherman and WorkBoat Copyright © 2013 Diversifed Business Communications PRINTED IN U.S.A. Producer of Seafood Expo North America, Seafood Processing North America, New England Food Show, Seafood Expo Global, Seafood Processing Global, Asian Seafood Expo, Seafood Expo Southern Europe and www.seafoodsource.com Editorial Advisory Board DISTRIBUTION 6 RETAIL FOODSERVICE Rich Polins, North Coast Seafoods Jim Wallace, C&S Wholesale Grocers Andrew Wilkinson, Sysco Robert Cerullo, Wakefern Food Corp. Jack Gridley, Dorothy Lane Market Roger Bing, Darden Restaurants Roger Berkowitz and Richard Vellante, Legal Sea Foods Steve LaHaie, Shaw's Crab House SeaFood Business June 2013 Nancy Hasselback President/CEO Mary Larkin VP Seafood Expositions Liz Plizga Show Director, SENA, SEGlobal, SESE Karen Butland Sales Manager, IBSS Victoria Hennin VP Strategic Marketing and Business Intelligence (207) 842-5500 / Fax: (207) 842-5505 www.divbusiness.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SeaFood Business - JUN 2013